Symposium on Simplicity in Algorithms (Call for papers)

by , under Events


First Symposium on Simplicity in Algorithms
Co-located with ACM-SIAM Symposium on Discrete Algorithms (SODA’18)
January 7-10, 2018
New Orleans, LA, USA

Submission deadline: August 24, 2017


Symposium on Simplicity in Algorithms is a new conference in theoretical computer science dedicated to advancing algorithms research by promoting simplicity and elegance in the design and analysis of algorithms. The benefits of simplicity are manifold: simple algorithms manifest a better understanding of the problem at hand; they are more likely to be implemented and trusted by practitioners; they are more easily taught and are more likely to be included in algorithms textbooks; they attract a broader set of researchers to difficult algorithmic problems.

Papers in all areas of algorithms research are sought. An ideal submission will advance our understanding of an algorithmic problem by, for example,

* introducing a simpler algorithm, or

* presenting a simpler analysis of an existing algorithm, or

* offering insights that generally simplify our understanding of important computational problems.

An ideal submission will contain novel ideas or attractive insights but is not expected to prove novel theorems, i.e., the results themselves can be known, but their presentation must be new.

The proceedings will be published in Schloss Dagstuhl’s OpenAccess Series in Informatics (OASIcs).

Important Dates:
Submission deadline: August 24, 2017
Notification of acceptance/rejection: October, 2017
Camera-ready deadline: November, 2017

Program Committee:
Keren Censor-Hillel, Technion
Edith Cohen, Google, Mountain View
Edith Elkind, University of Oxford
Jeremy Fineman, Georgetown University
Mohsen Ghaffari, ETH Zürich
David Karger, MIT
Richard Karp, University of California, Berkeley
Valerie King, University of Victoria
Dániel Marx, Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Moni Naor, Weizmann Institute of Science
Raimund Seidel (Chair), Universität des Saarlandes
Robert Tarjan, Princeton University
Virginia Vassilevska Williams, MIT
David Williamson, Cornell University
David Woodruff, Carnegie Mellon University
Uri Zwick, Tel Aviv University